Law Enforcement • Military Pre- Deployment • Executive Protection • Agency Qualifications • Civilian Training
Combat Tactical Academy                           

Your Subtitle text

Testimonials

Here you will find what people are saying about our academy. These testimonials are authentic, recent and given by police officers, lawyers, doctors, military and moms and dads.

Showing: 1-20 of 85
1 2 3 4 5 Next
Janis Weber Lutz said:   December 31, 2014 8:45 am PST
I thought I knew a little bit abut shooting.. but NOW, after taking this class, I actually say I know a little bit about shooting. I am so impressed with the quality of instruction. The instructors constantly built upon my successes. I always felt supported and encouraged. I hope I never need the skills I learned from John and his crew, but if I ever do, I'll be ready. Thank you for two unforgettable days!

Jim Lutz said:   December 19, 2014 6:52 pm PST
My wife and I attended the two day Level One Tactical Handgun class held Dec 6& 7, 2014 great class!!! excellent coaching and instruction, three instructors for the class, great range safety used and adhered to, great personal instruction and much firing at multiple targets in multiple scenarios! I successful graduated using my weak side hand and my wife is so grateful for her certificate too. Highly recommend to anyone wanting to gain pistol experience and proper instruction! well worth the investment in time and money! Do this for yourself and your families safety! Jim Lutz, Henderson NV

Ilia said:   December 19, 2014 7:26 am PST
Really Awesome Class and Instructors!!! Highly recommended for anyone who wants to learn to how to do it the right way! My skills improved greatly and now I ready to take it to the next level with these guys! Repeat customer for a long while now:) Take this class if you are not sure are can handle a gun at maximum capacity.

Alek Soon said:   August 30, 2014 12:14 am PST
Hi John. Hope all is well. I want to express how much of a great experience I've had taking your course. I learned much more than I expected, but the most important take home lesson was gun safety. You were right about being comfortable with a handling a handgun after your course. In addition, your expertise, and calmness made the course very fun despite the mental fatigue. Keep it up. I will definitely make referrals to my friends and colleagues. Thanks again.

Denton Pang said:   August 30, 2014 12:13 am PST
Thanks again for the class. I learned so much! I know I told you I shot guns before, but I never came away with confidence that they can be safe, and that I could own one. After learning the rules, and you dispelling my many fears (dropping bullets/magazines, guns going off in holsters, etc..), I can confidently say that I would like to own a gun. Before then, guns were too scary, and the closest I would come to owning one would be to read about them in books and magazines. Speaking of safety.. We went to that BBQ after class on Saturday, and the homeowner had brought out his Glock to show us. He handed me the gun and his kid was right under the barrel. I almost lost my shit! I went "Whoa!" and I quickly moved the gun. He told me "it's okay, it's not loaded." That quickly reminded me of the first day of training when you placed the gun at my feet and asked if it was loaded. That MF! You'd be happy to know that when I took possession of the gun, I turned around from the other guests, and did a chamber check & mag check. Looked at the gun and gave it back. When the guy gave it to Aleck, he did a chamber check & mag check. Maybe it's me being in insurance and my constant loss control mentality, but before anything else, you have taught Aleck and I gun safety. We both agree that the homeowner seriously needs to take a gun safety class. Thanks again for knowledge and fun. We're definitely coming back! Dent

Mike Petty said:   April 30, 2014 2:37 pm PST
As a professional trainer, training coordinator for a law enforcement agency and Army veteran, I would have to say this is the best firearms range I have attended. No matter your skill level, from never firing before to advanced, you will take home some new skills to put into your toolbox. Not to mention "a lifetime supply of free chamber checks and mag checks". I can't wait to attend the next one!

Tracy Hunt said:   April 28, 2014 9:33 am PST
Completed a 1 day Tactical Shotgun class with John Kern yesterday 4/27/14. What a great time. I learned so much and broke in my new Winchester SXP Tactical Shotgun. With John's help I was shooting, checking my world, hitting my targets with 00Buck, slug and bird without any hitches. If you are interested in learning how to properly handle your shotgun for home and personnel protection you should sign up with Combat Tactical Academy and John Kern.

Sarah Grant said:   October 9, 2013 1:00 pm PST
After taking the 2 day handgun course I couldn't wait to sign up for another one. I recently took the shotgun course and had a blast. Driving home from the course my father in law hit the nail on the head when he described John. He said, "He is very safe and professional, but still fun and engaging." He doesn't make you feel afraid...but rather makes you feel comfortable. I feel completely different about my weapons since having taken the class. I am SO SO much more proficient and confident. During the handgun course Chaucy also gave me some advice and help that absolutely changed my skills. I can't wait to take the rifle class next! Or the level 2 handgun course! Thanks so much.

Linda Gaunt said:   June 25, 2013 8:01 pm PST
My husband and I recently took the level 1 class. I was really nervous not knowing a whole lot about guns but the class is amazing. They made me feel comfortable with my gun and were very patient and so informative with their knowledge. In just two days they taught me so much. their skill and techniques were amazing and so easy to follow. I really had a good time and learned more than I would have in a 5 day class. thank you so much!!

Adam said:   June 24, 2013 6:55 pm PST
I am the Branch Manager for a National Security Firm. We have several armed officers both in Las Vegas and Reno. My concern is always firearms safety and the necessary skills that come along with it. I am very skeptical of the training and prior history of each applicant and find it hard to identify good solid training that I can trust. After attending the two day tactical firearms course, I'm confident with any applicant that comes to us with a firearms certificate from Combat Tactical Academy. I've been shooting for years and have attended many handgun courses. None of them as good as this one. After shooting for 25 years, this was by far the best I've every attended.

Diane Mohr said:   June 24, 2013 5:35 am PST
I had a great experience in this class. I learned a lot about my ability to use a gun. I do feel better about having one with me but I will continue to work on the things I need to improve on. The instructors were so helpful and patient!! Thanks to them for making the class so great!

Greg L. Gaunt said:   June 23, 2013 5:59 pm PST
This course was phenomenal! My wife and learn so much. Thanks to the instructors. The instruction was very positive and no negative comments. The instructors were more concerned about getting the students to do the actions correct that if you used the correct buzz words. I have been in courses were the "words" were more important that doing the action correct.

Jason said:   June 20, 2013 8:13 am PST
Thank you to Chauncy, Randy, and Rudy for a great experience!!! I have been around firearms my whole life and received weapons training with the Navy and Marine Corps. The instructors are experts in their field, knowledgeable and skilled. The information, skills, and techniques that I learned in this two-day class far exceeded my expectations and I look forward to their level 2 class. I recommend this course to anyone who plans to own a hand gun and wishes to become proficient.

Rich Getty said:   June 4, 2013 3:50 pm PST
I recently took the Basic Training Course from Utah Combat Tactical Academy. I have taken numerous conceal carry and other firearms training courses, but this one tops the list so far. Day two was a blast (no pun intended)! I took the class with my girlfriend who also thoroughly enjoyed it. The skills we learned were great stepping stones to the next levels of training. The training style was very relaxed and I think that everyone in attendance felt very safe. If you are brand new to handguns, this is a must take course. If you have handled firearms your whole life, like I have, you will still greatly improve your skill level. We plan on taking the next class as soon as it is available. Thank you Chauncey!

Lynne Miller said:   May 27, 2013 4:01 pm PST
I recently completed Handgun Level 1 Tactical training. Wonderful class! It was money and time that was WELL spent! I had little prior experience with handguns, but wanted to learn. By the time the two days were up, I felt confident in my newly acquired skills but also understood where I still needed more practice and training. Chauncy, Randy and Rudi were EXCELLENT instructors, attentive to detail, questions and above all safety! I'll be returning for more training!

Matt and Lori said:   May 11, 2013 6:00 pm PST
We really enjoyed the training and thought the team were excellent educators. But in addition to that, they were also aware and took the time to assist with any of our individual shortcomings. I would highly recommend the training to anyone. It not only brought my skill level up several notches, I've now begun establishing consistent actions to insure I'll be ready and most effective in any given situation. I enjoyed shooting before, but now I'm much faster, more effective and much more accurate. I'm also now confident in my wife's ability to not only protect herself, but even back me up if it's ever needed. Having a weapon for self defense is certainly good, but making that kind of investment without learning how to effectively use it is like buying a new car without a key. It may look nice but it doesn't do you much good if you can't drive it, especially if it became a matter of life or death. We would definitely recommend the training to anyone.

Diana Seidel said:   April 29, 2013 5:00 pm PST
I took the Level 1 Handgun Course this weekend in Davis County, UT. Before this class, I had never shot a gun or been around a gun being fired except for on TV. I would even feel ill to my stomach if I held an unloaded gun. Through the instructors support and instruction, I was able to walk away from this course being comfortable loading and unloading my firearm, all around safety and awareness, and also developing a love for shooting my gun. My mom had always wanted me to learn to shoot because she was an excellent marksman and worked in government security. When she passed away from cancer, I made her a promise that I would learn how to fire a gun. I was able to fulfill that promise this weekend. I didn't become an excellent marksman, however I did come a long way from the first day of class. I plan on continuing to practice and then retake the Level 1 Skills Test and I will ace it!!! Then its off to Level 2! I just want to personally thank Chauncey, Randy, and Rudy! You made a big difference in my life.

Brad Davis said:   April 29, 2013 12:15 pm PST
I'm a realist with no B.S or agenda. This class easily surpassed my expectations across the board. I think the main point the instructors wanted to leave with the students, was that they will now feel very comfortable with handling, practicing and defending themselves with firearms in a safe and responsible manner. I took the conceal and carry class at Scheels which was fine and good, but the tactical class is the class you need to put everything into practice. I'd recommend to anyone without reservation. -brad

Julia said:   March 25, 2013 10:37 am PST
Amazing class and teachers!! I had no formal handgun training and didn't feel very confident in shooting a pistol. After the 2 day class I feel confident in what I learned and amazed at how much I was able to improve. It was a great experience and I would recommend it to anyone interested in hangun training or to learn how to shoot properly. It is worth the time, effort and money!!! Thanks Chauncey, Rudy and Randy for the great instructions and training.

Guy said:   March 25, 2013 7:42 am PST
Wow what a great class!! I came to the class with many years of shooting experience. So technically speaking I was not a beginner. However I have to say that the amount of information, skills, and techniques that I learned in this two-day, "level one" class far exceeded most level two and even some level three classes. The instructors were very skilled and were obviously experts in their field. It was clear that not only were they knowledgeable, they were also very skilled and were able to "walk the walk" as it were. There was so much information given that I plan to take the class again as a "tune-up" before I take their level 2 class. I would highly recommend this course to anyone who plans to own a hand gun and wishes to become a proficient user. Thanks to the Chauncy, Randy, and Rudy for a great experience!! I'll be back. Guy

Sign My Guest Book
Name:
 
 
 
Email:
 
 
 
Message:
 
 
 
 

Testimonials
Website Builder